What I am Playing: Shadows of the Damned


Previously on what I am Playing:  FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

We now return to what I am playing.

CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK!

Wow that was one long profanity.  I do feel much better now.  Let’s get started.

 Shadows of the Damned (PS3)

Shadows of the Damned

Image via Wikipedia

Shadows of the Damned is a unique title that was released last year to very little fanfare despite the triple A talent that produced it.  Shadows is the unholy union of Suda 51 (No More Heroes) Shinji Mikami (Resident Evil) and Akira Yamoka (Silent Hill).  Just by looking at those names I want to give it a ten out of ten.   However Shadows received mixed reviews.  At this point I would like to point out I am not a professional reviewer nor do I want to be one.  I consider myself more of a game muse-er.  Because of this I do not hold myself to any concept of journalistic integrity.  No responsibility is awesome, anyway the people who gave Shadows a bad review are wrong.  I don’t care if it is their opinion, their opinion is wrong.  Also their face is wrong.

In Shadows you play as demon hunter Garcia Fucking Hotspur.  Garcia must be a pretty good demon hunter because in the beginning of the game he incurs the wrath of the lord of the underworld, named Fleming.  Fleming kidnaps Garcia’s girlfriend Paula for the purpose of taking her to the underworld and torturing her for all eternity.  Garcia understandably upset marches into hell with Johnson, a floating skull that can change into various weapons, in order to save Paula and to carve his name into Fleming before he kills him.

The game play is very reminiscent of Resident Evil 4 and 5, and for good reason since Shinji Mikami is a producer.  Just like Resident Evil, Shadows is a third person shooter where the camera is fixed on the characters back and switches to an over the shoulder view when the player takes aim.  Garcia’s companion can change into three different types of guns, a handgun, shotgun, and machine gun.  These weapons get upgrades after performing certain tasks (mostly beating bosses) and the stats can be upgraded by collecting red gems, which you can buy from the demon with a southern accent and heart of gold Christopher, or find them hidden around the levels.

The game is broken up it five acts, each exploring a different part of the underworld.  Most of the level have you going from one point to another killing all the enemies.  Shadows does deviate occasionally to avoid being repetitive by adding chase scenes where you must run from a possessed Paula and  puzzles that involve you trying to escape darkness.  Certain levels change genre altogether and become a 2D scrolling shooter.

The writing is where Shadows of the Damned shines.  Although the story is a simple save the girl from evil the dialog is very funny.  I would not say that it is witty.  In fact it is very juvenile, but I am ok with that.  Garcia and Johnson are constantly going back and forth telling jokes.  Most of these jokes are about dicks.  At one point they call a sex line and this call gets Johnson so excited that he turns into a giant cannon which Garcia dubs the big bonner.  This game is great for those who stopped maturing during middle school.  I will admit, I can be immature, and as a result I loved every moment of this game.

Probably the Shadows of the Damned’s best feature is the soundtrack.  Akira Yamoka, who did the music for the Silent Hill series tears it up on the soundtrack.  Akira, I feel, is given more freedom on this title than in Silent Hill.  There are times when the music resembles Silent Hill, then there are other times it becomes rocking Spanish inspired metal.  The music is the perfect fit.  I can not imagine this game without it.

There are a few drawbacks to Shadows of the Damned.  The aiming is very sensitive.  There were times I was trying to aim and the gun’s laser sight was just flying all over the place.  The controls from Resident Evil seemed much tighter.  I also had some issues with the ending.  I don’t want to spoil anything but it was a kind of a let down.

All and all, I loved Shadows of the Damned.  I would love for this series to continue, unfortunately that will most likely never happen due to poor sales.  However nothing is impossible, as stated in the game Garcia is a Mexican, not a Mexican’t.  In summation, Shadows of the Damned gets my Seal of approval.

 

All right, on to the

Vibrissae near the nose and above the eyes of ...

next one.

What? Is that all?

Come on!  I did twenty games last article, now I am only doing one.

Ask again later.

Ok then.  I guess I am done.  I hope to see you soon on “What I am playing”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

